Choose a Cause and be passionate about it…

It has been a month since I started fundraising for my Tzedek ‘Dare’.

I am living on £1 a day for 5 days to try and understand what it is like for people in the developing world who live on less than $1 a day, every day. The money I raise will go directly to sustainable development projects that Tzedek funds in Africa and India.

So far, I have successfully raised £305. Thank you to all those who donated, I really appreciate your support!

Today at work, I was inspired by my colleagues. Working in the JHub in West Hampstead this year has been a truly unique experience. JHub is a place where small Jewish social action charities can find a space to grow and develop. Charities include Tzedek, Big Green Jewish, Mitzvah Day, JVN, UK Taskforce and Rene Cassin.

The topic of our lunch time conversation today started by talking about my £1 a day challenge; went on to talking about coffee farmers in Ethiopia; finding out that Vietnam is one of the top producers of coffee; and ended with a conversation about the Muppet movie.

JHubbers have chosen a Cause (capital C) and are not afraid to be passionate about it, all day, every day. Whether at their desks or on a break, those who care about their world, their communities and their friends continually learn from each other and do not give up on what they know to be right.

For those of you who have seen the film or read the book by Kathryn Stockett, ‘The Help’ is an excellent example of this passion for a Cause.

And to leave you with a great quote:

“I can honestly say that I was never affected by the question of the success of an undertaking. If I felt it was the right thing to do, I was for it regardless of the possible outcome.”
- Golda Meir
I feel inspired. Do you??

Leave a Reply

